Sports Personality of 2017

Posted on 18/12/2017

Sir Mo Farah has been voted BBC Sports Personality of the Year 2017.

Farah, Britain's most successful-ever distance runner becomes the first long-distance runner to win the Sports Personality award since Paula Radcliffe in 2002.

Close to tears, Farah said he was surprised to win because of the quality of the other athletes up for nomination. "We have such amazing sports in the UK with people doing great such as, Lewis Hamilton, Jonnie Peacock and Anthony Joshua.’

He added: "When you see that list and put yourself in there, you think, 'I might finish top three, maybe'. "Having come so close after London 2012, I thought that was my best chance of winning. I just thought, 'Mate, this thing is hard to win!'.

Farah took the prize with 83,524 votes - 2,957 more than second-placed motorcyclist Jonathan Rea, while Paralympian, Peacock took third place with 73,429, just 18 more than heavyweight boxer Anthony Joshua.

"It's something special, it's pretty amazing. I watch BBC Sports Personality of the Year every year and it's incredible to actually win this."

Farah ended his speech with gratitude and appreciation: "Thank you to everyone that voted for me, I'm just sorry I can't be there to celebrate.

The full voting breakdown:

  • Sir Mo Farah: 83,524
  • Jonathan Rea: 80,567
  • Jonnie Peacock: 73,429
  • Anthony Joshua: 73,411
  • Adam Peaty: 63,739
  • Lewis Hamilton: 60,627
  • Chris Froome: 47,683
  • Harry Kane: 18,759
  • Anya Shrubsole: 15,237
  • Bianca Walkden: 13,962